syllabus assignment  lab  old exams 

 

HW: ap chem  problems 

(tentative - subject to change, depending upon topic coverage in class)

date description  ---  honors due
     
Wed, June 1 end of semester  
Tu, May 31 final exam (for periods 1 & 3)  
Mon, May 30 holiday  
Fri, May 27 final exam --- retest on ch. 18 & 19 (optional)  
block begin final exam; schedule  
Tu, May 24 retest review  

Mon, May 23

 

 

collect chem tutoring form

last day to turn in missing work

return textbooks

 
Fri, May 20 retest review  
block test on ch. 18 & 19 equilibrium & pH / acid / base  

Tu, May 17

 

 

collect HW

test review

science sbac for some students

work on / turn in missing work

 

Mon, May 16

 

science sbac for some students

Q & A

work on / turn in missing work

 
Fri, May 13 finish up  

block

 

ch. 19.4 pH of salt

HW: ch. 16ap; # 61ab, 65

 

Tu, May 17

Tu, May 10

 

ch. 19.4 conjugate pair & buffer

HW: ch. 17ap; # 13, 14

 

   "

Mon, May 9

 

weekly quiz

Q & A

 

Fri, May 6

 

 

collect HW

ch. 19.3 pH, weak acid / base

HW: ch. 16ap; # 39, 41, 43; 55, 57

 

 

   "

block ch. 19.1 - 19.3 pH, strong acid / base; # 83, 85, 87, 88, 89, 90    "
Tu, May 3 finish up  

Mon, May 2

 

weekly quiz

Q & A

 
Fri, Apr 29 retest (optional) on ch. 25 & 17 nuclear chem & kinetics  

block

 

ch. 18.3 Ksp

HW: ch. 17ap; # 33; 51, 55

 

Fri, May 6

Tu, Apr 26

 

ch. 18.2 LeChatelier's principle

HW: ch. 15ap; # 39, 40

 

   "

Mon, Apr 25

 

weekly quiz

Q & A

 
Fri, Apr 22 test on ch. 25 & 17 nuclear chem & kinetics  

block

 

ICE table

HW: ch. 15ap; # 15, 17, 21; 27, 31, 33, 35, 37

 

   "

Tu, Apr 19 ch. 18.1 equilibrium; equilibrium constant / expression; relate Kp & Kc; # 52, 53, 55    "

Mon, Apr 18

 

weekly quiz

Q & A

 

Fri, Apr 15

 

end of grading period

collect HW

work on / turn in any missing work

 
block kinetics lab  

Tue, Apr 12

 

finish up

collect chem tutoring form

 

Mon, Apr 11

 

 

weekly quiz

Q & A

CSU chem validation policy

 

Fri, Apr 8

 

ch. 17 reaction energy profile

HW: ch. 14ap; # 38, 39, 41 (assume delta E = delta H)

 

Fri, Apr 15

block

 

ch. 17 rate law -- graphical analysis

HW: ch. 14ap; # 27, 29

 

   "

Tu, Apr 5 ch. 17.3 rate law -- algebraic analysis; # 69, 70    "

Mon, Apr 4

 

ch. 17 kinetics / stochio

HW: ch. 14ap; # 9, 11

 

   "

  spring break  
Fri, Mar 25 do / turn-in missing work  
block     "  
Tu, Mar 22     "  

Mon, Mar 21

 

weekly quiz

finish up lab

 
Fri, Mar 18 finish up lab  
block radioactive decay simulation lab Fri, Mar 25

Tu, Mar 15

 

collect HW

retest on ch. 15 & 16

 

Mon, Mar 14

 

weekly quiz

Q & A

 

Fri, Mar 11

 

ch. 25.3 radioactive dating

HW: ch. 21ap; # 29, 31, 33, 37

 

Tu, Mar 15

block ch. 25 nuclear reactions; # 69, 70, 71   "
Tu, Mar 8 test on ch. 15 & 16 solution & thermo  

Mon, Mar 7

 

weekly quiz

Q & A

 

Fri, Mar 4

 

collect HW

lab data analysis

 

block

 

specific heat of a metal lab

thermo lab

Fri, Mar 11

Tue, Mar 15

Tu, Mar 1

 

ch. 16.5 entropy & Gibbs free energy; # 90a, 92

HW: ch. 19ap; # 32a, 37, 38, 39, 40

Fri, Mar 4

   "

Mon, Feb 28

 

weekly quiz

Q & A

 

 

Fri, Feb 25 finish up  

block

 

ch. 16.4 ΔHf, Hess' law; # 88

HW: ch. 5ap; # 49, 50

   "

Tu, Feb 22

 

weekly quiz

finish up

 
Mon, Feb 21 holiday  

Fri, Feb 18

 

end of grading period

ch. 16.3 heating curve; enthalpy & stochi; calorimetry; 82, 85, 86, 87

HW: ch. 11ap; # 27, 28, 29

 

   "

   "

block

 

 

collect / review HW

ch. 16.1 - 16.2 heat & enthalpy; # 78, 70, 80, 81

turn in chem tutoring form

   "
Tu, Feb 15 lab data analysis  

Mon, Feb 14

 

weekly quiz

announcement: revise HW due date; shown in color

 
Fri, Feb 11 retest on ch 12 & 14 stochi & gas (optional)  
block titration lab Fri,. Feb 18
Tu, Feb 8 finish up  

Mon, Feb 7

 

 

weekly quiz

ch. 15 supplement: solution stochiometry

HW: ch. 4ap; # 51, 53, 56, 72

revise ch. 15 soln HW due date to later date

 

block, Feb 16 / 17

Fri, Feb 4 test on ch. 12 & 14 stochi & gas  

block

 

 

no weekly quiz

ch. 15.3 colligative properties

HW: ch. 13ap; # 45, 47, 49, 51, 52

 

 

   "

Tu, Feb 1 holiday  
Mon, Jan 31 holiday  
Fri, Jan 28 lab data analysis  
block gas stochiometry lab Fri, Feb 4

Tu, Jan 25

 

ch. 15.2 preparing solution

HW: ch. 4ap; # 9, 11, 13

 

block, Feb 16 / 17

Mon, Jan 24

 

 

weekly quiz

collect / review HW

aside: lab report rationale

 

Fri, Jan 21

 

ch. 15.1 - 15.2 solution & concentration

HW: ch. 4ap; # 5, 7

 

   "

block finish up  

Tu, Jan 18

 

 

weekly quiz

ch. 14.4 gas stochio & partial pressure

HW: ch. 10ap; # 45, 47, 53, 55

 

 

Mon, Jan 24

Mon, Jan 17 holiday  
Fri, Jan 14 lab data analysis  
block Boyles' law lab Fri, Jan 21
Tu, Jan 11 finish up  

Mon, Jan 10

 

 

weekly quiz

ch. 14.1 - 14.3 pressure & gas laws

HW: ch. 10ap; # 7, 13; 17, 23, 25; 35, 37

 

 

Mon, Jan 24

Fri, Jan 7 collect / review HW  
block ch. 12.4 % yield; # 84, 87 Fri, Jan 7
Tue, Jan 4 ch. 12.3 limiting reactant; # 76, 77, 80, 82, 83    "

Mon, Jan 3

 

 

announcement: revise course syllabus (shown in green); reduce / eliminate extra credit

ch. 12.1 -12.2 stochiometry; # 51, 53; 61, 62; 64, 66; 69, 70, 72

mental math; e.g. 1 ; 2 ; 3

 

   "

  link to fall content  

homework problems refer (i) to the problems at the end of the chapter in the textbook and (ii) due on the next class day, unless otherwise stated